Home of the Triple Crown

The Darwin round of the Supercars Championship is unique for more than its iconic location - it is also home of the elusive Darwin Triple Crown.

19 years of Triple Crown contention

Introduced in 2006, the Darwin Triple Crown immediately ramped up the pressure for the Top End round. Traditionally awarded to the driver who won all three sprint races at Hidden Valley, there have been a few adjustments to the winning requirements over the years. This has resulted in two drivers winning the fabled trophy.


Pole Position

Scott McLaughlin won in 2019, when the requirement was to win both races and top the Sunday Top 10 Shootout. Jamie Whincup won in COVID-affected 2020 by being the driver to score the most points across the weekend.


The road to glory

For a driver to win the Darwin Triple Crown, they must end each day of on-track action in the top spot, P1. That includes

  • Fastest in Friday’s 90-minute practice session
  • Win Race 11 on Saturday
  • Win Race 12 on Sunday

This years twist

The new addition to the Triple Crown is Friday’s 90-minute practice session, the only practice session for Supercars of the weekend. As teams traditionally put new tyres on their cars at the end of practice sessions, to simulate qualifying situations, Friday’s practice will provide a true form guide on who is quickest.



The driver who tops the Friday’s time sheets will have undoubtedly earned their first step toward the Darwin Triple Crown, but the second and third steps will be even harder. They’ll have to beat two dozen of their fiercest rivals to the chequered flag in two flat-out races across Saturday and Sunday.

Whoever gets the trifecta will take the Darwin Triple Crown trophy home. Crafted by Larrakia artist Trent Lee, the trophy is designed as a traditional shield, a symbol of protection. Perfect for battling it out at Hidden Valley Raceway!


Stay up to speed

Subscribe to our newsletter


betr Darwin Triple Crown Supercars respectfully acknowledges the past, present and emerging Traditional Owners of the beautiful land on which we live, work and gather. We respect the cultural practices and traditions of our hosts, recognise the importance of sustainably caring for our country, and commit to being respectful visitors to traditional lands.